Sneaky Choco Banana Muffins

Sneaky Choco Banana MuffinsWhen camping I want to have easy to grab quick bites for my two active boys. I try to make muffins prior to going, but do carry a muffin tin for those “I didn’t bring enough” moments!

I am not a person who is against sugar or treats. I try to feed my boys a healthy diet, but they do go through their food phases. Sometimes frozen chicken nuggets is the “food” of the week, as long as they eat their veggies with it!

I have been experimenting with good brain food that is tasty to the boys while sneaking in some healthy ingredients. After a few unsuccessful batches I came up with this recipe:

Sneaky Choco Banana Muffins
Wet Items
3 Frozen Bananas thawed & mashed
4 TBSP. oil (coconut, canola)
1/2 Cup apple Juice
2 Tsp. vanilla

Dry Items
1 Cup Brown Sugar
3TBSP. cocoa powder
1/2 Cup finely ground flax seeds
1/2 Cup finely ground hemp hearts
1/2 Cup finely ground wheat germ
1 1/2 Tsp. baking soda
1 TBSP baking powder
1/2 Tsp. salt
1 1/4 Cup whole wheat flour

1/2 Cup Chocolate Chips
1/2 Cup dried fruit (raisins, cherries, blueberries, goji berries)

Preheat oven 350 degrees. Lightly oil muffin tins. mix wet ingredients together in one bowl. Mix dry ingredients together in another bowl. Pour dry ingredients into wet ingredients and mix together. Scoop mix into tins (3/4 full). Bake for 15-20 minutes. The oil keeps the muffins moist and the hemp & flax give the muffins a nice nutty flavour.

Let me know if you like the recipe.

That is what winter is for. Practising new ideas so summer can be fun!

5 thoughts on “Sneaky Choco Banana Muffins

  1. I like how you experiment to find one you like with healthy ingredients. I do that too. They rarely work out but we eat them anyway! ha! These look yummy. And I’m all about sneaky! 🙂
    Great blog. So interesting!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Ice Box Cookies | familyrecipebooks

  3. Pingback: Homemade Energy Bars |

  4. Pingback: Muffins that taste like cookies | Attempting zero waste lifestyle in a military household

  5. Pingback: Vegan Pumpkin Muffins | Holiday Party Entertaining Ideas

Leave a Reply

