Campfire Songs

I must admit that anytime I sing, Chris asks me “If I wrote that song”.  I say “no” and he then jokingly says “then shut up and let them sing it” and we would both laugh.  I have a  sreechy type voice that keeps the bears away when I was working alone outside. Generally I do not sing unless I am by myself in room or in the woods.  However, when it comes to campfires or road trips I like to sing. The freedom to sing on the road was developed from me being a Brownie, Girl Guide Pathfinder, Air Cadet & Pathfinder leader.  It was a great part of bringing up spirit when hiking, running or marching.  Singing was an unifier and bond maker for campers both locally and internationally. It brought similarity, fun, friendship and laughter to every situation.  At the end of large camps, as we closed with traditional campfire songs, it usually brought tears as all campers knew we were going our separate ways.

Last summer I tried to bring this into our family camping traditions with some simple songs such as Alice the Camel, Baby Bumble Bee, If You Are Happy & You Know It; and Quarter Master’s Store.  The boys would join in singing with all but Quarter Master’s Store – I think it was a little too hard.  Next year I will bring more songs to the table.  Next summer, I plan to introduce more songs.  I only wish that I knew how to play the guitar! Below are some songs that I sang going on road trips and to camp. These songs were taken from the Girl Guide Song Book:

Baby Bumble Bee:

I’m bringing home my baby bumble bee
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me
I’m bringing home my baby bumble bee
Ouch, it stung me!
I’m squishing up my baby bumble bee
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me
I’m squishing up my baby bumble bee
Ouch, it’s all over me!
I’m licking up my baby bumble bee
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me
I’m licking up my baby bumble bee
Ugh, I don’t feel so good!
I’m barfing up my baby bumble bee
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me
I’m barfing up my baby bumble bee
Oh, eww what a mess!
I’m sweeping up my baby bumble bee
Won’t my mommy be so proud of me
I’m sweeping up my baby bumble bee
Oh, my mommy wasn’t so proud of me!

Make New Friends:
Make new friends,
But keep the old,
One is silver,
And the other gold.

The Bear Song:
This is a repeat song,
The other day,
I met a bear,
Out in the woods,
A way out there.
The other day I met a bear,
Out in the woods a way out there.
He looked at me,
I looked at him,
He sized up me,
I sized up him.
He looked at me I looked at him,
He sized up me I sized up him,
He said to me,
Why don’t you run,
I see you ain’t,
Got any gun,
He said to me why don’t you run?
I see you ain’t got any gun.
And so I ran,
Away from there,
But right behind,
Me was that bear.
And so I ran right out of there,
But right behind me was that bear.
Ahead of me,
There was a tree,
A great big tree,
Oh, glory me.
Ahead of me there was a tree,
A great big tree oh glory me.
The lowest branch,
Was ten feet up,
I’d have to jump,
And trust my luck.
The lowest branch was ten feet up,
I’d have to jump and trust my luck.
And so I jumped,
Into the air,
But I missed that branch,
Away up there.
And so I jumped into the air,
But I missed that branch away up there.
Now don’t you fret,
Now don’t you frown,
Cause I caught that branch,
On the way back down.
Now don’t you fret now don’t you frown,
Cause I caught that branch on the way back down.
I heard a crack,
I heard a crunch,
And I became,
That big bear’s lunch.
I heard a crack I heard a crunch,
And I became that big bear’s lunch.
The moral of,
The story be,
Don’t meet a bear,
With out a tree.
The moral of the story be,
Don’t meet a bear without a tree.

Alice the Camel:
Alice the camel has five humps
Alice the camel has five humps
Alice the camel has five humps
So go Alice go! Boom boom boom
(repeat counting down until…)
Alice the camel has no humps
Alice the camel has no humps
Alice the camel has no humps
Because Alice is a horse

If You’re Happy and You Know It:
If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands!
If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands!
If you’re happy and you know it,
And you really want to show it,
If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands!
If you’re happy and you know it, stamp your feet!
If you’re happy and you know it, stamp your feet!
If you’re happy and you know it,
And you really want to show it,
If you’re happy and you know it, stamp your feet!
If you’re happy and you know it, shout hooray!
If you’re happy and you know it, shout hooray!
If you’re happy and you know it,
And you really want to show it,
If you’re happy and you know it, shout hooray!
If you’re happy and you know it, do all three!
If you’re happy and you know it, do all three!
If you’re happy and you know it,
And you really want to show it,
If you’re happy and you know it, do all three!
If you’re hungry and you know it, ring the bell,
If you’re hungry and you know it, ring the bell,
If you’re hungry and you know it,
And you really want to show it,
If you’re hungry and you know it, ring the bell!

Leave a Reply

